Born on 24th November, 1932, Prof. Ifedayo Olawole Oladapo graduated with First Class Honours from the University of St. Andrews, Scotland in 1959. He obtained Ph. D. in Structural Enginerring from the University of Cambridge in 1962.

Prof. Oladapo obtained some practical experience as a Designer engineer in Denmark before returning to Nigeria to start an academic career. Prof. Oladapo lectured at Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria and the University of Lagos where he rose to the post of Professor in 1970.

At the University of Lagos, he was Dean of the Faculty of Engineering from 1971 to 1975 and Deputy Vice-Chancellor 1977 to 1979.

Prof Oladapo is a distinguished scholar who has made significant contribution to knowledge in his specialization of structural concrete. He has served as Visiting professor in several Universities in Europe and United States of America. Prof. Oladapo was invited to become the foundation Vice-Chancellor of the Ondo State University in 1982 and he successfully built up a good reputation for the University during his two terms in office.

At the professional level, Prof. Oladapo was involved in the design and construction of some of the major projects in the country. He has indeed made tremendous contributions to the development of engineering education and engineering profession in Nigeria. He was active in the Nigerian society of Engineers and became the First Vice-President in 1977. He was elected to COREN in 1971 and became President from 1974 to 1997.

He has also served on the Executive Committee of the International association for Bridge and structural Engineering, Zurich and was Vice-President of the Association for many years. Prof. Oladapo holds a D. Sc (Honoris Causa) of the Ondo State University and was also honoured by both the Nigerian Society of Engineers in 1992 for “outstanding contribution to engineering education and practice” and by COREN in 1997.

Prof. Oladapo who has the distinction of being the first Nigerian Engineer to obtain the Nigerian National Merit award, “the highest national prize for academic and intellectual attainment” is also a foundation Fellow of the Nigerian academy of Science and became President of the Academy 1987 – 1988. He is the Foundation President of the Nigerian Academy of Engineering.