Engr. Samuel Olatunde Fadahunsi was born on 17th March 1920 in Ilesha, Osun state. He attended Saint John School, Iloro, Ilesha, Osun state and other schools in the defunct Western Region (1927-1936); Government College, Ibadan (1937-1942); Higher College, Yaba (1943-1946). He also studied abroad at Road Research Institute, Harmandsworth, London    (1957- 1958). 


He held the position of Engineer Grade IV, Nigeria Public Works Department (1947-1954); Executive Engineer Grade II, District Engineer (1955-1956), City Engineer (1956- 1957) and later Materials Engineer, Ibadan (1958-1960). He was also Chief Water Engineer, defunct Western Region, Ibadan (1960-1963); Deputy Chief Executive Officer (1963-1965) and Chief Executive Officer, Lagos Executive Development Board (LEDB) which later became Lagos State Development and Property Corporation (LSDPC) (1965-1972); Principal Partner/Managing Director, Comprehensive Engineering Consultants, Lagos since 1972; Chairman, Reynolds Construction Company (Nigeria) Ltd (since over 30years till date) He is also the Founder and Chairman, S.O. Fadahunsi Housing Foundation since 1999.


He is a Fellow of Institute of Civil Engineers, Great Britain; Fellow, Nigerian Society of Engineers; Honorary Fellow, Institute of Chartered Surveyors and Valuers; Fellow, Institute of Water Engineers and scientists, United Kingdom; Foundation Fellow, The Nigerian Academy of Engineering. He was a Member, Lagos State Sports Council 1963-1968; Member, Caretaker Committee, Lagos City Council1966-1970; Member, International Arbitration Panel for the construction of Asejire Dam(1970); Member, United Nations Panel of Experts on Housing Finance (1970); Member, Board of Governors, Yaba College of Technology  (1972-191975); Member, of Senate, University of Lagos, Akoka, Lagos (for three years); Member, Institute of Directors; Member, Board of National Electric Power Authority(now Power Holding Company Nigeria); Former Chairman, Oshogbo Steel Rolling Mills Company Limited, Chairman , Inter-Ministerial Panel for the formation of Western Nigeria Water Corporation (1961); Chairman , Ibadan /Lagos Branches- West African Joint Group of Professional Engineers(1968-1969); Chairman, Industrial Research Council of Nigeria (1971-1974); Chairman, Wemabod Estates (1963-1975); Chairman, Federal Housing Authority (1976-1979); President, Nigerian Society of Engineers (1967-1970) ; President, Council of Registered Engineers of Nigeria (1977-1986); Commissioner, Nigerian Boys Scout Movement (1965) and Life Member, Association of Housing Corporations of Nigeria. He has many Professional publications to his credit including Research reports as well as Housing Finance.


He was awarded Certificate of Honour, Nigerian Boys Scouts Movement. He was awarded Nigeria‚Äôs National Honour of Officer of the Order of the Federal Republic (OFR) in 1982 and Commander of the Order of the Niger (CON) in 2002.