Federal Government Appoints Engr. Prof. Frank Okafor FAEng as NERC Commissioner

The Minister of Power, Works and Housing, Babatunde Fashola, on Tuesday, February 7, 2017 on behalf of the Federal Government inaugurated new commissioners for the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC).

Fashola said they have been chosen in the manner prescribed by law and “I particularly welcome their arrival for many reasons: (a) It provides stability in governance regulatory action and institution building to the sector; and (b) It allows the Ministry to focus on policy; coordination and completion of on-going generation and transmission projects”.

The inauguration which took place at the Power House of the ministry did not produce a substantive chairman for the commission. The vice chairman who is amongst the newly appointed Commissioners will act as Chairman. The commissioners are: Engr. Sanusi Garba (North West); Dr. Musiliu Oseni (South West); Dafe Akpeneye (South-South); Engr. Prof. Frank N. Okafor (South-East); Nathan Shatti (North East), and Dr. Moses Arigu (North Central).

Dr. Anthony Akah, the General Manager (Director), Consumer Affairs at NERC has been the Acting Chairman/Chief Executive Officer of NERC for the last 14 months. He will now hand over to the Vice Chairman, Engr. Sanusi Garba.

While calling for support for the new commissioners, Fashola emphasized that “power is now in private hands, and government is now largely a policy maker, and regulator. The Vice Chairman Engr. Garba in his short remark, thanked President Muhammadu Buhari and the minister for the opportunity to serve the country.